Local officers presented with Impaired Driving Enforcement Awards

Kentucky Governor Andy Beshear handed out Impaired Driving Enforcement Awards recently, including to several local law enforcement officers. 

More than 170 Kentucky state and local law enforcement officers were presented an award—these awards are given to those with the most impaired-driving arrests in each agency and in each division from Oct. 1, 2022 through Sept. 30, 2023. Award recipients received a plaque, while the top division winner was presented with the Highway Safety All-Star Award.

Locally, Christian County Sheriff’s K9 Deputy Josh Strauch received a Impaired Driving Enforcement Award, along with Sergeant Terry Riley and Detective Jonathan Knight with the Hopkinsville Police Department, Sergeant Michael Platero with the Oak Grove Police Department, Officer Keilo Jefferson of the Elkton Police Department, Todd County Sherrif’s Deputy Derek Baumann, Trigg County Sheriff Joshua Oden and Madisonville Police Officer Dustin Scott.

According to the Kentucky Office of Highway Safety, last year in Kentucky there were 4,127 total crashes involving an impaired driver, resulting in 1,990 injuries and 189 deaths. These awards are part of the ongoing effort to brings those numbers down.